Join us for a great event

Guest post by Rose Montague, writer of Urban Fantasy/Young Adult books with a lot of humour and just a touch of romance. Rose has worked both in a library as well as several bookstores. She lives in Elon, NC. by Rose Montague: It started with a bit of a rant with my post on […]

via Our Books Are Not Free — Rainne’s Ramblings

It’s a tough balance between getting your work out there in the public eye and selling yourself short. I’ve been in both places and what I’m learning is that I know I write stories that entertain and are enjoyed by many people. My reviews and ratings on Goodreads and Amazon tell me this! I’d never walk into a shop and expect to get a new product for free. Sure, samples are fine but the whole product? No.

I understand the pressure and the endless marketing, blood, sweat and tears it takes to make sure that your book is in enough places that people see it but between paying for editing, book covers, and marketing, many indie authors make enough to just cover costs. It’s a shame because there are some seriously talented people out there and unless things start to change, we’ll lose them. With this in mind I support this event and hope that readers join in and buys books. The cost is sometimes lower than a measly candy bar but the pleasure is so much more. Hope you can save the date and join us!

In the meantime, if you want to read a new book that’s bound to make you smile, please check out Lost in Translation which is available now.

Leave a comment